How to delete data from a blackberry

Question: I want to sell my old Blackberry in anticipation of buying a new one. How can I delete data from a Blackberry for good?

Answer: Erasing data from a smartphone couldn’t be easier. Just follow our simple, step-by-step guide. See our past tutorial on erasing the data from your iPhone.

Before you do anything make sure the gadget is plugged in or has a full battery.

1. Press the Blackberry button on the keypad. It’s located left of the trackball, and it opens the main application menu.

2. Scroll to and select the “Options” icon.

3. Open “Security.”

4. Select “General Settings.”

5. Press the BlackBerry button to open a list of options.  By default, E-mail, Contacts and User Installed Apps are pre-selected.

6. Select “Wipe handheld.”

7. Confirm that you want to wipe the handheld data by choosing “Continue.”

8. Confirm the reset again by typing “blackberry” on the keypad, and then press the trackball.

9. Wait for the phone to clear all the data and to restart. The phone will be reset to default factory form.

delete data from a blackberry

All done! Now that you’ve cleared your Blackberry you can safely sell the phone, send it in for repairs or pass it on as a gift.

One last question – do I have to delete the data myself if I send my phone to ExchangeMyPhone?
Most people want to stay on top of deleting their own data, and we are happy to offer these explanations.  Of course, here at ExchangeMyPhone our standard procedure includes total immediate data wiping for all products received. So, if you are sending a phone to us here at ExchangeMyPhone, there’s no need to worry about doing it wrong or having sent a device with data still on it – we’ll always double-check and rewipe.

If you’ve any questions, please feel free to ask them in the comments section below.