How do I delete the data from my iPad?

Posted on February 06, 2013 | Apple, iPad, Mac, resale, tablet, Tech tips

The latest, memory-rich iPad has just hit the shelves. Did you decide to upgrade? Perhaps you were inspired by all the tablet chatter on the internet to trade in your old iPad and use the money to subsidize a newer model.

Whatever your reason, we have created a very simple, step-by-step process explaining the best way to delete the data from your iPad so it is ready for re-sale.

1. Start up your iPad and go Settings > General. Then scroll down to Reset.

2. Tap on Erase All Content and Settings.

3. Enter your passcode (if you have one).

4. Tap Erase.

All done! It couldn’t be easier. All you have to do is restart your iPad to confirm that it has all been wiped.

Now that you’ve cleared your data you can safely sell your iPad or pass it on to some you really like.

If you have a few smartphones lying around that you’d like to wipe, ready for resale or re-gifting, check out our how-to posts on erasing data from iPhones and erasing data from Blackberrys.

One last question – do I have to delete the data myself if I send my device to ExchangeMyPhone?
Most people want to stay on top of deleting their own data, and we are happy to offer these explanations.  Of course, here at ExchangeMyPhone our standard procedure includes total immediate data wiping for all products received. So, if you are sending a phone or device to us here at ExchangeMyPhone, there’s no need to worry about doing it wrong or having sent a device with data still on it – we’ll always double-check and rewipe.

If you’ve any questions, please feel free to ask them in the comments section below.

Posted by | Link | Comments (0)